Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size


January 1, 2013 2013: Jay Strader research group discovers densest known galaxy

MSU Astronomy & Astrophysics Assistant Professor Jay Strader (pictured at lower right) was the lead author for an Astrophysical Journal Letter (volume 775, letter 6, 20 Sept 2013) describing the characteristics of an ultra-compact galaxy called M60-UCD1, with a density 15,000 times that of the region of the Milky Way near the Sun, making it the densest galaxy currently known. Typical spacing between stars in M60-UCD1 is only 4% that found in our stellar neighborhood.

October 1, 2012 October 2012: Mark Voit named AAAS Fellow

G. Mark Voit, MSU Professor of Astronomy & Astrophysics, was one of four MSU faculty members among the 701 scientists selected as AAAS Fellows in 2012 by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

For further information, see the announcement on the AAAS website and this MSU Today story.

January 2, 2012 2012: Professor Matthew Comstock Installed as Second Jerry Cowen Chair of Experimental Physics

In an investiture ceremony at MSU, Dr. Matthew Comstock was installed as the Department of Physics and Astronomy's second Jerry Cowen Chair of Experimental Physics. Professor Chih-Wei Lai was installed as the first holder of this Chair in 2008 (he continues to hold this Chair). The Chair's donor and Jerry Cowen's son, Randy Cowen, two of Jerry's daughters, as well as his widow Elaine, were in attendance to help celebrate the occasion.

November 1, 2011 November 2011: P-A Faculty honored by national scientific organizations

On 18 November 2011, P-A Chair Wolfgang Bauer made the announcement that the following faculty members had received honors from prestigious national scientific organizations.

October 2, 2011 October 2011: "Relics of the Big Bang" planetarium show opens

Relics of the Big Bang is a new show designed and produced by researchers in the MSU Department of Physics and Astronomy and the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory in conjunction with Abrams Planetarium staff, with the assistance of MSU students in many fields including graphic design, narrative writing and sound engineering.

August 1, 2011 August 2011: Future of nuclear physics draws hundreds of scientists to MSU

The first annual Joint ATLAS-GRETINA-HRIBF-NSCL-FRIB Users Meeting will be held at the MSU Biomedical & Physical Sciences Building in East Lansing, Michigan, from 18-20 August, 2011. Many scientists in low-energy nuclear physics now carry out experiments at several user facilities, and major equipment such as GRETINA will rotate between the respective laboratories. Hence the time is right to bring the U.S. low-energy user community together to discuss science, plans, and needs within a single user meeting.

June 2, 2011 June 2011: Raymond "Chip" Brock named University Distinguished Professor

Physics-Astronomy Professor and former departmental chair Raymond "Chip" Brock was one of 10 MSU faculty members named University Distinguished Professor by the MSU Board of Trustees in recognition of achievement in the classroom, laboratory and community at its 17 June 2011 meeting. This honor is awarded at the MSU President's recommendation to ten faculty members campuswide every two years.

January 1, 2011 2011: MSU P-A Professor Pengpeng Zhang Selected for U.S. Department of Energy Early Career Research Program Award

The U.S. Department of Energy (DoE) recently announced 68 Early Career Research Program financial awards for young faculty from amongst 1150 applicants for the fiscal year 2011. One of the awardees was Dr. Pengpeng Zhang of the MSU P-A department. Dr. Zhang's project, Utilizing Molecular Self-Assembly to Tailor Electrical Properties of Si Nanomembranes has potential applications ranging from nano-electronics to energy harvesting. It was selected for funding by the DoE's Office of Basic Energy Sciences (BES).

December 1, 2010 December 2010: Physics and astrophysics senior Jessica Muir named 2010 Marshall Scholar

In 2010, Physics and astrophysics senior Jessica Muir was named 2010 Marshall Scholar.

September 4, 2010 September 2010: Physics alumna Dr. Azam Niroomand-Rad receives award

Physics alumna Dr. Azam Niroomand-Rad (M.S. 1971, Ph.D. 1978) received the 2010 MSU College of Natural Science Outstanding Alumni Award.