Toggle Accessibility Tools


February 1, 2013 February 2013: Elizabeth Simmons receives MSU's 2013 Robert F. Banks Award for Institutional Leadership

The Dean of MSU's Lyman Briggs College and Professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy, Elizabeth Simmons, has received Michigan State University's 2013 Robert F. Banks Award for Institutional Leadership. This award goes to a member of the faculty, academic staff, or support staff in recognition of extraordinary and sustained institutional leadership that advances MSU’s commitment to connectivity, quality and inclusion. It will be presented to Dr. Simmons by MSU President Lou Anna K.

January 1, 2013 2013: Jay Strader research group discovers densest known galaxy

MSU Astronomy & Astrophysics Assistant Professor Jay Strader (pictured at lower right) was the lead author for an Astrophysical Journal Letter (volume 775, letter 6, 20 Sept 2013) describing the characteristics of an ultra-compact galaxy called M60-UCD1, with a density 15,000 times that of the region of the Milky Way near the Sun, making it the densest galaxy currently known. Typical spacing between stars in M60-UCD1 is only 4% that found in our stellar neighborhood.

December 1, 2012 December 2012: Ruby Ghosh's research featured in MSU Engaged Scholar E-Newsletter

The December 2012 issue of The Engaged Scholar, an E-Newsletter produced by MSU's Office of University Outreach and Engagement, featured P-A Research Associate Professor Ruby Ghosh's oxygen sensor research activities.

October 1, 2012 October 2012: Mark Voit named AAAS Fellow

G. Mark Voit, MSU Professor of Astronomy & Astrophysics, was one of four MSU faculty members among the 701 scientists selected as AAAS Fellows in 2012 by the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

For further information, see the announcement on the AAAS website and this MSU Today story.

September 1, 2012 September 2012: 20th Anniversary of LON-CAPA

The initial roll-out of the Computer-Assisted Personalized Approach (CAPA) system, developed by members of the MSU Department of Physics and Astronomy, was 20 years ago this month.

This system, enhanced and merged with other projects, evolved into the current LearningOnline Network with Computer-Assisted Personalized Approach (LON-CAPA) system, which is now used by more than 140 educational institutions worldwide, not only for physics courses, but in many other fields as well.

January 2, 2012 2012: Professor Matthew Comstock Installed as Second Jerry Cowen Chair of Experimental Physics

In an investiture ceremony at MSU, Dr. Matthew Comstock was installed as the Department of Physics and Astronomy's second Jerry Cowen Chair of Experimental Physics. Professor Chih-Wei Lai was installed as the first holder of this Chair in 2008 (he continues to hold this Chair). The Chair's donor and Jerry Cowen's son, Randy Cowen, two of Jerry's daughters, as well as his widow Elaine, were in attendance to help celebrate the occasion.

January 1, 2012 2012: MSU P-A Professor Describes How Recent Subatomic Particle Collision Results May Be Signs of the Elusive Higgs Boson

After 40 years of searching, physicists have the elusive Higgs boson in their sights. Wade Fisher, Michigan State University assistant professor of physics, presented the team’s results March 7 at a physics conference in La Thuile, Italy.

November 1, 2011 November 2011: P-A Faculty honored by national scientific organizations

On 18 November 2011, P-A Chair Wolfgang Bauer made the announcement that the following faculty members had received honors from prestigious national scientific organizations.

October 2, 2011 October 2011: "Relics of the Big Bang" planetarium show opens

Relics of the Big Bang is a new show designed and produced by researchers in the MSU Department of Physics and Astronomy and the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory in conjunction with Abrams Planetarium staff, with the assistance of MSU students in many fields including graphic design, narrative writing and sound engineering.

October 1, 2011 October 2011: "Nature News" features Michael Thoennessen's isotope-discovery database

Physics-Astronomy Professor Michael Thoennessen and a team of students have compiled a new database containing discovery information on all known isotopes of the chemical elements, which makes it easy to see the locations and researchers involved in such discoveries and trends in the technologies involved over the years. This has led to a ranking of labs and researchers for the number of isotopes initially isolated by each.