Toggle Accessibility Tools


February 1, 2007 February 2007: Adjunct Professor Albert Fert wins prestigious prizes

Feb. 1, 2007: We are pleased that one of our Adjunct Professors of Physics, Prof. Albert Fert of CNRS/Thales and the University of Paris Sud, in Orsay, France, was just awarded the 2007 Wolf Prize and the 2007 Japan Prize, both jointly with Peter Grünberg of the KFA Jülich, Germany.

January 5, 2007 2007: MSU-PA Adjunct Professor Albert-Fert wins Nobel Prize

Tuesday, October 9, 2007

Albert Fert, Professor at the Université Paris-Sud and also Adjunct Professor at the Department of Physics and Astronomy at Michigan State University (MSU), and Peter Grünberg, Scientist at the Forschungszentrum Jülich, are sharing the 2007 Nobel Prize in Physics “for the discovery of Giant Magnetoresistance”.

January 4, 2007 2007: MSU-UM Tier 2 Computing Center

EAST LANSING, Mich. - That giant is 750 miles of fiber optic cable that lassoes its three biggest research universities and Van Andel Institute to the future. Its first mission: To uncover the nature of the Big Bang by connecting U.S. physicists to their huge experiment ATLAS in Geneva, Switzerland, at the European Centre for Nuclear Research, or "CERN." The University of Michigan and Michigan State University together are creating one of the portals to these secrets for hundreds of U.S. physicists.

January 3, 2007 2007: The Nanostructure Problem

May 2007

Modern high performance materials are revolutionizing our lives, from light high strength metals in aviation to exotic electronic materials in our computers. The frontier in materials research is to design novel materials where we control the atomic arrangements on the nano-meter scale to obtain some desired functionality: the dream of nanotechnology.

January 2, 2007 2007: Evidence for Rare Single Top Quarks

Several members of the MSU physics department played a key role in the recent finding of evidence for single top quarks produced in a rare subatomic process involving the weak nuclear force. The MSU scientists are members of the DZero collaboration at the Department of Energy's Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory near Chicago, Illinois, where the measurement was made. C.-P. Yuan, professor of physics at MSU, was excited to hear about the result; after all, he had predicted how the discovery could be accomplished back in 1990.

January 1, 2007 2007: $100 Million Grant for NSCL

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded the National Super-conducting Cyclotron Laboratory at MSU more than $100 million to fund operations through 2011, highlighting the lab's status as a world-leading nuclear science facility.

Arden Bement, director of NSF, will visit East Lansing today to formally acknowledge the grant renewal, which will allow the cyclotron laboratory to continue pushing the frontiers of knowledge in rare isotope science, training the nation's next generation of nuclear scientists, and attracting undergraduate students to basic science.

February 1, 2006 February 2006: Timothy Beers receives the MSU Distinguished Faculty Award

Timothy C. Beers' scientific vision and pursuit of excellence in research, education and outreach has made him the worldwide leader in the search for the oldest and most chemically primitive stars in the galaxy and the universe. His efforts have led to the identification of more than 2,000 stars with metal abundances less than one percent of the solar value.

January 3, 2006 2006: 21st Century Jobs

September 2006: Ruby Ghosh, research associate professor of physics, led an interdisciplinary team that received a $914,000 grant from the Michigan 21st Century Jobs Fund ( to commercialize a "Dissolved Oxygen Sensor for Continuous (24/7) Monitoring in Aquaculture Applications". The team is comprised of researchers from three colleges at MSU: Per Askeland (Composite Materials & Structures Center), Gregory Baker (Dept.

January 2, 2006 2006: Record Haul

Professors Bass, Beers, Billinge, Donahue, and Voit win CNS faculty awards

April 2006

A record five faculty members of the Department of Physics and Astronomy received awards at the annual College of Natural Science awards ceremony. Professors Megan Donahue and Mark Voit won the CNS Teacher-Scholar award, Professors Tim Beers and Simon Billingewon the CNS Distinguished Faculty award, and Professor Jack Bass won the Meritorious Faculty award.