Toggle Accessibility Tools


January 1, 2007 2007: $100 Million Grant for NSCL

The National Science Foundation (NSF) has awarded the National Super-conducting Cyclotron Laboratory at MSU more than $100 million to fund operations through 2011, highlighting the lab's status as a world-leading nuclear science facility.

Arden Bement, director of NSF, will visit East Lansing today to formally acknowledge the grant renewal, which will allow the cyclotron laboratory to continue pushing the frontiers of knowledge in rare isotope science, training the nation's next generation of nuclear scientists, and attracting undergraduate students to basic science.

February 1, 2006 February 2006: Timothy Beers receives the MSU Distinguished Faculty Award

Timothy C. Beers' scientific vision and pursuit of excellence in research, education and outreach has made him the worldwide leader in the search for the oldest and most chemically primitive stars in the galaxy and the universe. His efforts have led to the identification of more than 2,000 stars with metal abundances less than one percent of the solar value.

January 3, 2006 2006: 21st Century Jobs

September 2006: Ruby Ghosh, research associate professor of physics, led an interdisciplinary team that received a $914,000 grant from the Michigan 21st Century Jobs Fund ( to commercialize a "Dissolved Oxygen Sensor for Continuous (24/7) Monitoring in Aquaculture Applications". The team is comprised of researchers from three colleges at MSU: Per Askeland (Composite Materials & Structures Center), Gregory Baker (Dept.

January 2, 2006 2006: Record Haul

Professors Bass, Beers, Billinge, Donahue, and Voit win CNS faculty awards

April 2006

A record five faculty members of the Department of Physics and Astronomy received awards at the annual College of Natural Science awards ceremony. Professors Megan Donahue and Mark Voit won the CNS Teacher-Scholar award, Professors Tim Beers and Simon Billingewon the CNS Distinguished Faculty award, and Professor Jack Bass won the Meritorious Faculty award.

January 1, 2006 2006: MSU will go to the big DANSE

$12M National Science Foundation grant is awarded for physics data analysis software development.

November 1, 2005 November 2005: Michael Thoennessen and Thomas Glasmacher elected APS fellows

EAST LANSING, Mich. Two Michigan State University faculty members have been named fellows of the American Physical Society, one of the world's largest and most respected physics organizations.

Thomas Glasmacher, professor of physics and associate director for operations at the MSU National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory, and Michael Thoennessen, professor of physics and associate director for nuclear science at the laboratory, were among this year's group of new fellows, all of whom were selected for their outstanding and innovative research.

February 1, 2005 February 2005: Michael Thoennessen receives the MSU Distinguished Faculty Award

Michael Thoennessen, a researcher and member of the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL), has achieved worldwide renown for his pioneering work in the field of experimental nuclear physics, in particular the area of exotic nuclei.

January 3, 2005 January 2005: Randy Cowen adds $1,000,000 to the Cowen Chair endowment fund

New York City, January 5, 2005: Randy Cowen adds $1,000,000 to the endowment fund he created to establish the Cowen Chair, an endowed chair in experimental condensed matter physics in memory of his father, long-time MSU physics/astronomy faculty member Jerry Cowen

January 2, 2005 2005: Forschungspreis: Prestigious Alexander von Humboldt Foundation award for Prof. Tomanek

November 2005, Berlin, Germany: The German Alexander von Humboldt Foundation announced that Prof. David Tomanek, Michigan State University, will receive the prestigious "Forschungspreis", the senior distinguished scientist award.

This prize is valued at up to 75,000 euro and will enable Prof. Tomanek to spend a research year at the University of Regensburg in Germany, where he will collaborate on nanoscience projects with nominating scholars and hosts in Germany, Prof. K. Richter, Dr. G. Cuniberti and Prof. M. Grifoni.

January 1, 2005 2005: Perfect Fluid

April 18, APS Spring Meeting 2005, Tampa: Gary Westfall announces the discovery of a new state of matter created in ultra-relativistic heavy ion collisions.