Toggle Accessibility Tools


July 1, 2017 July 2017: Interstellar ion research highlighted

The research of MSU Foundation Professor Marcos Dantus, faculty member in the Chemistry Department and adjunct professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy is highlighted in two online articles published on 05 July 2017.

NASA Renames Solar Probe Mission in Honor of MSU Physics Alumnus Eugene Parker June 1, 2017 NASA Renames Solar Probe Mission in Honor of MSU Physics Alumnus Eugene Parker

In a ceremony at the University of Chicago on 31 May 2017, NASA announced that the former Solar Probe Plus mission, which will launch in 2018, was being renamed the Parker Solar Probe in honor of MSU alumnus solar astrophysicist Eugene Parker. This is the first time a spacecraft has been named for a living person.

June 1, 2017 June 2017: Muon g-2 collaboration featured in MSU Today article

The Muon g−2 Experiment at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (FNAL, or "Fermilab") and its members within the MSU Department of Physics and Astronomy, Prof. Martin Berz, Research Prof. Kyoko Makino, and their team of graduate students, are featured in the June 8th MSU Today article "Muon Magnet's Moment Has Arrived".

May 1, 2017 May 2017: Witek Nazarewicz receives Flerov Prize

Hannah Professor of Physics Witold "Witek" Nazarewiczhas been awarded the G. N. Flerov Prize by the Joint Institute for Nuclear Research (JINR) in Dubna, Russia, for his theoretical studies of the atomic and nuclear properties of the heaviest elements.

April 2, 2017 April 2017: Joey Huston named MSU Foundation Professor

In an investiture ceremony held in room 1415 BPS Building on 20 April 2017, Physics & Astronomy Professor Joey Huston was honored as an MSU Foundation Professor.

April 1, 2017 April 2017: Physics and Astronomy Day at Impression 5 Science Center

On Saturday, 15 April 2017, the MSU Department of Physics & Astronomy will be a sponsor of Physics and Astronomy Day at Impression 5 Science Center in Lansing from 10:00 am to 5:00 pm. Students and faculty will lead hands-on interactive activities for children of all ages.

March 1, 2017 March 2017: MSU Nuclear Physics graduate program retains #1 national ranking in latest report

MSU’s nuclear physics graduate program, part of the College of Natural Science’s Department of Physics and Astronomy, is among seven MSU graduate programs that rank No. 1 nationally in the latest U.S. News & World Report rankings.