Toggle Accessibility Tools


February 3, 2017 February 2017: Chris Wrede research highlighted in MSU Today article

An article published on 18 February 2017 in MSU Today features MSU Physics & Astronomy Assistant Professor Chris Wrede, giving details of some of his research into the generation of nuclear isotopes in stellar explosions, which was the topic of a presentation he made recently at a meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS). He explains how experiments done at the NSCL provide real evidence linking astronomical observations with theoretical and computational models of how heavy nuclei are formed and distributed in nature.

February 2, 2017 February 2017: Megan Donahue elected AAS President

The American Astronomical Society (AAS) has announced the results of its 2017 elections, and MSU Physics & Astronomy Professor Megan Donahue has been elected as the new AAS President. She will take office this summer.

February 1, 2017 February 2017: Michael Thoennessen becomes Chair of APS Division of Nuclear Physics

Starting in February 2017 and continuing until March 2018, MSU Physics & Astronomy University Distinguished Professor Michael Thoennessen will serve as the Chair of the Executive Committee of the American Physical Society's Division of Nuclear Physics.

January 3, 2017 January 2017: William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award made to David Tománek

Physics & Astronomy Professor David Tománek is one of ten recipients of MSU's 2017 William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award.

January 2, 2017 January 2017: Tyce DeYoung neutrino research highlighted in MSU Today article

An article published on 31 January 2017 in MSU Today features MSU Physics & Astronomy Associate Professor Tyce DeYoung and his research connections with the IceCube Neutrino Observatory at the South Pole. Measurements of neutrino properties have traditionally been very difficult, and the IceCube detector is refining those measurements in an unprecedented way. This may allow comparisons of natural results with theoretical models which can help scientists to understand relationships between certain fundamental particles and forces.

January 1, 2017 January 2017: Filomena Nunes receives award from MSU Center for Gender in Global Context

The MSU Center for Gender in Global Context has announced that Physics-Astronomy Professor Filomena Nunes has received its 2017 Inspirational Woman of the Year Award in the Professional Achievement category.

October 2, 2016 October 2016: NSCL researchers characterize unusual nuclear structure

In a recent Nature Physics article, an international research group including MSU P-A faculty members Alexandra Gade and Hironori Iwasaki, working at the NSCL, describe the results of their study of the structure of the nucleus of the isotope silicon-34.

October 1, 2016 October 2016: MSU P-A faculty members named APS Fellows

In October 2016, Professor Megan Donahue and Associate Professor Brian O'Shea were named Fellows of the American Physical Society.