Toggle Accessibility Tools


September 1, 2016 September 2016: Elizabeth Simmons appointed associate provost

Physics & Astronomy University Distinguished Professor and Dean of Lyman Briggs College Elizabeth Simmons has been appointed MSU's Associate Provost for Faculty and Academic Staff Development.

June 3, 2016 June 2016: NSCL researchers find constraints on elusive nuclear reaction rates

The origin of the elements in the Universe is one of the big unsolved questions in science. Nuclear fusion reactions in stars are responsible for creating most of the light elements up to iron. Heavier elements are produced in a network of nuclear reactions and decays, mainly involving the capture of neutrons by unstable nuclei that only exist for fractions of a second. Therefore, it is essentially impossible to measure the majority of these rates directly in the laboratory because the unstable nuclei involved cannot be made into targets for irradiation with neutrons.

June 2, 2016 June 2016: MSU Physics-Astronomy alumnus receives Woodrow Wilson New Jersey Teaching Fellowship

The Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation announced on Wednesday, 15 June&2016 the selection of 62 WW New Jersey Teaching Fellows for 2016. Among them is Michigan State University alumnus (M.S. 2016) Walter Buhro. The new Fellows were introduced at an event today with Governor Chris Christie.

The highly competitive program recruits both recent graduates and career changers with strong backgrounds in science, technology, engineering, and math – the STEM fields – and prepares them specifically to teach in high-need secondary schools.

June 1, 2016 June 2016: Evidence found supporting MSU astronomers' theoretical model

In earlier research, described here, MSU Physics & Astronomy Professors Mark Voit and Megan Donahue, along with other astrophysicists from other institutions, presented an explanation of the differing rates of star formation in different galaxy clusters which used analogies to rain formation in our own planet's atmosphere.

April 2, 2016 April 2016: Yearly Departmental Awards for 2016

The 2016 Department of Physics & Astronomy Awards were presented at a reception held at 3:00 pm on Thursday, 28 April 2016 in the main conference room, 1400 BPS Bldg.

The award presentation was followed by a concert by the Grand Canonical Ensemble (Physics Choir).

April 1, 2016 April 2016: HAWC researchers release detailed high energy gamma-ray sky map

The High Altitude Water Cherenkov Observatory (HAWC)has been in operation for just over a year, collecting detailed observations of approximately two-thirds of the sky at high energy gamma-ray wavelengths with about 15 times the sensitivity of previous gamma-ray survey instruments.

March 2, 2016 March 2016: NSCL research team finds evidence for pre-solar system content in meteoritic material

Analysis of the composition of meteorites by a research team at the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL) has turned up evidence that microscopic dust particles imbedded in some meteoritic materials show signs of possibly having been produced in stellar explosions long before the solar system formed.

March 1, 2016 March 2016: Chris Adami makes progress in unravelling black hole information paradox

Chris Adami, Professor in the Department of Microbiology & Molecular Genetics and Adjunct Professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy, has partnered with Kamil Brádler of the University of Ottawa to create a detailed model of a black hole's interaction with its surrounding field of Hawking radiation.

January 6, 2016 January 2016: New Abrams Planetarium show "Skywatchers of Africa"

Abrams Planetarium has a new featured show, "Skywatchers of Africa", which explores African cultural uses of astronomical information which have developed over time. Aspects of societies in Africa, ranging from spirituality to ritual to ordinary survival needs, have for thousands of years been influenced by their knowledge of the sky.

January 5, 2016 January 2016: Mark Voit wins William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award

Physics and Astronomy Professor Mark Voit is one of ten winners of the 2016 William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award. This award will be one of many which will be presented to various accomplished members of the MSU Community at the annual MSU Awards Convocation at 3:30 pm on February 9th at Wharton Center's Pasant Theatre.