Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

Remco Zegers and Chris Adami named 2017 APS Fellows

Among the approximately 180 American Physical Society (APS) members elected as 2017 APS Fellows worldwide were MSU Professors Remco Zegers and Chris Adami. The criterion for election as an APS Fellow is exceptional contributions to the physics enterprise; e.g., outstanding physics research, important applications of physics, leadership in or service to physics, or significant contributions to physics education. Fellowship is a distinct honor signifying recognition by one's professional peers.

Dr. Zegers is a Professor in the MSU Department of Physics & Astronomy and is currently the Associate Director for Experimental Nuclear Science of the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (NSCL) at MSU. He was nominated for APS Fellowship by the APS Division of Nuclear Physics for “his study of spin and isospin excitations of atomic nuclei, and the implications of such excitations to our understanding of fundamental properties of nuclei, neutrinos, and astrophysical processes.”

Dr. Adami is a Professor in the MSU Department of Microbiology & Molecular Biology and an Adjunct Professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy. He was nominated for APS Fellowship by the APS Division of Biological Physics for “the development of novel methods to study evolution using digital experimentation, as well as contributions to the use of information theory to understand biological systems.”