Toggle Accessibility Tools

January 2017: William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award made to David Tománek


Physics & Astronomy Professor David Tománek is one of ten recipients of MSU's 2017 William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Award.

William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Awards, formerly (before 2014) the Distinguished Faculty Awards, are made each year to members of the regular faculty, i.e., tenure system faculty and librarians in the continuing appointment system, for outstanding total service to the University. MSU College of Law tenure system faculty, Facility for Rare Isotope Beams/National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory (FRIB/NSCL) faculty and Health Programs (HP) faculty are also eligible for nomination. Each college making nominations for the award has its own detailed criteria and methods for nomination. The nominations are based on teaching; advising; research; publications; art exhibitions; concert performances; committee work; public service including extension, outreach and work with government agencies and industry; or a combination of these activities. Administrative excellence and length of service may not be used as the sole criteria for nomination. However, nominees usually have at least five years of service at Michigan State University. No more than ten William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Awards shall be made each year.

Additional information about the 2017 William J. Beal Outstanding Faculty Awards may be found in this MSU Today article.