Toggle Accessibility Tools

June 2007: Timothy Beers and Wolfgang Bauer named University Distinguished Professors

Department of Physics and Astronomy Logo

Tim Beers and Wolfgang Bauer were among the ten MSU professors that have been named University Distinguished Professors in recognition of their achievements in the classroom, laboratory and community. The designations, recommended by Interim President Lou Anna K. Simon, were approved by the MSU Board of Trustees on June 15, 2007.

The title of University Distinguished Professor is among the highest honors that can be bestowed on a faculty member by the university. Those selected for the title have been recognized nationally and usually internationally for the importance of their teaching, research and public service achievements.

Individuals holding the professorship will receive, in addition to their salary, a stipend of $5,000 per year for five years to support professional activities.

The 10 individuals bring to 104 the number of faculty members who have been named a University Distinguished Professor since the designation was established by the university and approved by the MSU Board of Trustees in 1989.

Prof. Beers is an astronomer and astrophysicist working on the oldest stars in the universe. He is also instrumental in the Joint Institute for Nuclear Astrophysics and works with our SOAR telescope. (movie clip)

Prof. Bauer is a nuclear physicist, with dual appointment at the National Superconducting Cyclotron Laboratory. His other interests include astrophysics, medical physics and physics education, in particular the LON-CAPA project. (movie clip)

Tim and Wolfgang join Walter Benenson, C. Konrad Gelbke, Brad Sherrill and Gary Westfall to bring the number of University Distinguished Professors to six in the Department of Physics and Astronomy. In addition, Sam Austin, Henry Blosser, Ed Kashy, and Mike Thorpe are all University Distinguished Professor Emeriti.

For more information and media clips on universitydistinguished professors see