Toggle Accessibility Tools

LBNF/DUNE Groundbreaking broadcast live, 21 July 2017

The groundbreaking ceremony for the LBNF/DUNE experiment, whose team of investigators includes MSU Department of Physics & Astronomy faculty members, will be broadcast over the Internet live at the URL at 4:20 pm EDT, Friday, 21 July 2017.

DUNE is the Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment, which uses the Long Baseline Neutrino Facility (LBNF), whose source is a beam line at the Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory (FNAL), with a small detector at FNAL near the source, and a large detector at the Sanford Underground Research Facility in Lead, South Dakota, 800 miles (1300 km) away.

The collaboration has nearly 1000 members from over 160 research institutions from around the world, including MSU Physics & Astronomy faculty members Professor Carl Bromberg and Assistant Professor Kendall Mahn and their research groups of post-docs and graduate students. Construction is expected to proceed in stages for several years, with the currently projected completion date in 2027 (though it is designed to potentially start taking data before the final completion date).

Additional information may be found in the sites' links above and in this MSU Today article.

The following officials are scheduled to speak at the ceremony, which takes place simultaneously at the Sanford Lab site and the FNAL site:

  • Executive Director Mike Headley, Sanford Underground Research Facility
  • South Dakota Governor Dennis Daugaard
  • Deputy Assistant to the President and Deputy U.S. Chief Technology Officer Michael Kratsios, Executive Office of the President
  • Associate Director of Science for High Energy Physics Jim Siegrist, Department of Energy
  • U.S. Senator John Thune, South Dakota
  • U.S. Senator Mike Rounds, South Dakota
  • U.S. Representative Kristi Noem, South Dakota
  • U.S. Representative Randy Hultgren, Illinois
  • Director for International Relations Charlotte Warakaulle, CERN, Switzerland
  • Professor Sergio Bertolucci, University of Bologna and National Institute for Nuclear Physics, Italy
  • Executive Director of Programmes Grahame Blair, Science and Technology Facilities Council, United Kingdom
  • Director Nigel Lockyer, Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory