Toggle Accessibility Tools

November 2011: P-A Faculty honored by national scientific organizations

On 18 November 2011, P-A Chair Wolfgang Bauer made the announcement that the following faculty members had received honors from prestigious national scientific organizations.

Prof. Scott Pratt was elected Fellow of the American Physical Society "for seminal contributions to the theory of pion interferometry and the phenomenology of heavy ion collisions".

Prof. Megan Donahue was elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.  Follows are AAAS members whose “efforts on behalf of the advancement of science or its applications are scientifically or socially distinguished.”

Prof. Elizabeth Simmons and Prof. Sekhar Chivukula were both also elected AAAS Fellows.  I do not know how often a husband-and-wife team gets elected Fellow on the same day, but this must be a very rare occasion.

The three AAAS Fellows from Physics-Astronomy were among nine elected from MSU this year (out of about 540 worldwide), the most MSU has earned in a single year, as noted in this MSU News story.