Display Accessibility Tools

Accessibility Tools


Highlight Links

Change Contrast

Increase Text Size

Increase Letter Spacing

Readability Bar

Dyslexia Friendly Font

Increase Cursor Size

HEP Experimental Group




We study the properties of the fundamental particles: the quarks and leptons (including electrons and neutrinos) and the carriers of the electroweak and strong forces, the gauge bosons and gluons. We do this work as active members of experiments at the largest particle accelerators in the world: the Large Hadron Collider at CERN,  the Fermi National Laboratory near Chicago where we participate in the D0 collider experiment and the NOvA neutrino oscillation experiment. We have research groups resident at both laboratories. Other neutrino oscillation experiments in which our members participate include T2K and IceCube/PINGU.

We also study high-energy astrophysical neutrinos with IceCube and TeV cosmic rays in Mexico with the HAWC Observatory.

At MSU experimentalists and theorists work in close proximity and participate in frequent discussions, collaborate together, and share common seminars. This close interaction, exemplified by the MSU-based CTEQ program, creates a vibrant, intellectually stimulating atmosphere contributing to the productivity of both theorists and experimentalists.

  Raymond Brock  
  Carl Bromberg (Emeritus)  
  Tyce DeYoung  
  Wade Fisher  
  Darren Grant  
  Reiner Hauser  
  Daniel Hayden  
  Joey Huston  
  Claudio Kopper  
  James Linnemann (Emeritus)  
  Kendall Mahn  
  Bernard Pope (Emeritus)  
  Reinhard Schwienhorst  
  Kirsten Tollefson  
  Nathan Whitehorn  

 Postdoctoral Associates

Brian Clark   baclark@msu.ed  
Robert Halliday   hallid15@msu.edu  
Andrew Ludwig   ludwiga7@msu.edu  
Mehr Un Nisa   nisamehr@msu.edu  
Shiqi Yu   yushiqi2@msu.edu  

Graduate Students

Jacob Calcutt   calcuttj@msu.edu  
Andrew Chegwidden   chegwid3@msu.edu  
Andrew Cudd   cuddandr@msu.edu  
Emily Johnson   john2105@msu.edu  
Hao Lin   linhao2@msu.edu  
Kuan Yu Lin   linkuany@msu.edu  
Samuel Marinelli   marine20@msu.edu  
Matthew Mondragon   mondrag3@msu.edu  
Jacob Morrison   morri631@msu.edu  
Brian Page   pagebri3@msu.edu  
Forrest Phillips   phill557@msu.edu  
Ivan Pogrebnyak   ivanp@msu.edu  
Devyn Rysewyk   rysewykd@msu.edu  
Bradley Schoenrock   schoenr1@msu.edu  
Christopher Willis   willisc9@msu.edu  

Support Staff

clerical and budget:      
Brenda Wenzlick   wenzlick@pa.msu.edu
electronics and computing:      
Daniel Edmunds   edmunds@pa.msu.edu  
Yuri Ermoline   yuri.ermoline@cern.ch  
Philippe Laurens   laurens@pa.msu.edu  
Richard R. Drake   rrdrake@pa.msu.edu  
Mike Nila   nila@pa.msu.edu  



Related web pages: